Back Issues
About Us

Dale Herman 2013 Recipient
2013 Award winner
Dale Herman

Renata Klassen 2012 Recipient
2012 Award winner
Renata Klassen

The Strohman Family
Accepting the 2011 Award: (l-r) Natalie Strohman, Joyce Strohman, Nigel Strohman and Jamie Dick

2010 award winners: Doug Hevenor (r) with nominator Dale Herman(l)

2009 award winners: Ken Ivey - Brenda Cameron; Albert Parsons

2008 award winner:
Sara Williams

2007 award winners: Southwest Farm Women's Network Garden Tour


The Prairie Garden Committee formulated the idea of an award in 1998. After many months of discussions, it was decided to present an annual award for distinguished service in horticulture. An anonymous donor agreed to provide funding for the award. The first award was presented in 2000 and the last award was in 2013. The award funding has expired.

The Prairie Garden Award for Excellence was awarded to an individual or group making a significant contribution to the advancement and/or promotion of horticulture on the Northern Great Plains. Areas of involvement may include community activity, plant introduction or breeding, preservation of horticultural sites, teaching, research, extension or photography.

Each year a monetary award was presented along with a plaque to the winner at a luncheon. A story about the winner and the presentation was featured in the subsequent issue of The Prairie Garden. The following are past recipients of the award. Clicking on the link below the picture will take you to a story about the winner.

2006 award winners:
Dr. Wilbert Ronald (right) and Barbara Laschkewitsch (left)

2005 award winner:
Honeywood (Dr. A.J. Porter) Heritage Nursery, Parkside, SK

2004 award winner:
Memorial Rose Garden, Pilot Mound, MB

2003 award winner:
Bryce Farnsworth (right)

2002 award winner:
Hugh Skinner

2001 award winner:
B.J. 'Buck' Godwin (left)

2000 award winner:
Phyllis Pierrepont (centre)


©2017 The Prairie Garden Committee